Fellowship Guidelines

The annual James Jones First Novel Fellowship is awarded to an American author of a first novel-in-progress. The award is intended to honor the spirit of unblinking honesty, determination and insight into modern culture exemplified by the late James Jones, who was, himself, the recipient of aid from many supporters as a young writer. Therefore, his family, friends and admirers have established a $5,000 award to continue that tradition in his name.

The judges are Kaylie Jones, his daughter and a novelist; Kevin Heisler, a writer; Don Sackrider, Jones' colleague at The Colony in Marshall, Ill.; J. Michael Lennon, one of his biographers; and Patricia Heaman, English Department chair at Wilkes University, Wilkes-Barre, Penn.

Eligibility: The competition is open to all American writers who have not previously published novels. Work may be submitted for publication simultaneously, but the Society must be notified of its acceptance elsewhere. Officers of The James Jones Literary Society are not eligible for the award.

Entry Fees: $15 per entry, payable to Wilkes University, must accompany each entry.

Manuscript Guidelines: A two-page (maximum) thematic outline of the entire novel and the first 50 pages of the novel-in-progress should be submitted. It should be typed and double-spaced. The submission will be acknowledged only if a self-addressed stamped postcard accompanies it. No manuscript will be returned. Name, address and phone number should be on the title page, but nowhere else. Pages should be numbered. If a manuscript is selected for the final round, its author will be asked to send up to 50 additional pages.

Timetable: all entries must be sent to The James Jones First Novel Fellowship, c/o Department of English, Wilkes University, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18766, postmarked no later than March 1. Winners must accept the award at The James Jones Society meeting, in Jones' hometown of Robinson, Ill. Transportation funding will be provided.